Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coaching Line as Off. Co

1. Default Coaching Line as Off. Co

Guys, I have a question for you... I am a head coach and have coached QB's the last 2 years and just lost my OLine guy. I am an OLINE guy myself so I am not worried, but I also run the offense. So my question is, "How do I coach the OLINE and run the offense too?" I know coaches do it, but I haven't done it before. Please tell me how you might run your practice or how you might split it up or any advice would help. I have some ideas, but your thoughts are appreciated, THanks!

2. Default

Coach you can do individual with your OL first while other coaches take the QB's, RB's, Rec's, etc.. Next, you can go group runs with the OL and offensive backs. Then group pass with everyone, working on protections with the OL and backs . Finally, team O with everyone .

Personally I think If you are going to call the plays I think the best position to coach is the O-line. You get a real feel for who can do what and the biggest communication must come from your guys up front - If I am calling plays and it is my off. I want to coach the most important part. I think as far as running practice the previous post is real good.

Default o-line

After two years as the o coordinator and working with running backs I am also going to be coaching the offensive line this upcoming season.

I was always frustrated not being totally in control of the line, it limited my confidence in some of the concepts we were trying to employ in the offense.

I think the greatest impact of the move will be the positive impact on your gameplanning.

Great suggestions above- here's some ways that I handled it...Alot of what you choose to do depends on your if you have a dependable position coach that you can trust to run a group drill.

Indy time with OL - ALWAYS...positon coaches taught fundamentals...