Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What plays you suggest for a youth football team 1st yr. Wing T???

Default What plays you suggest for a youth football team 1st yr. Wing T???

There's no question what scheme I will use this season. I'm the newborn of the Wing T family. I wanted to know what plays would you suggest to install for a 1st yr. wing T team? I so much info from many of you and others from the wing T family. I just wanted to know from all of you what plays you suggest and tips for installing these plays? I'm studying under Coach Mcnew right now, but I just wanted to know what others think.

Thanks in advance.

Coach Hayes
    (Host/Producer-The Red Zone Show)
    www.coachbigb.com

Default Drills

I also would like to know if anyone had any drills that could help me out installing this scheme as well? Thanks in adavance.

Coach Hayes
    www.coachbigb.com

Coach our local youth program ran the wing-t (just like we do at the HS level) They made their living off of the Buck Series and the Belly Series.

Drills: I love having a Tackle Down block and Both guards pull. Similar to this
    http://www.bucksweep.com/buck_sweep_drill.htm

We also run backfield action with cones. With and without the ball to work on faking.

Hope this helps.

Twenty Series (Buck Sweep, Trap and Waggle)
    Eighty Series (Belly, Belly Sweep, Maybe Keep Pass)
    Basic Formations: 100-900...Tight 100-Tight 900
    and go from there!
    Ed Sadloch
    Head Football Coach
    Cedar Grove (NJ) H.S.

Not saying that you aren't doing this, but I feel that you should focus on which series to run, rather than which plays. I coached 7th grade Wing-T for six years, and I've focused on the Buck and Belly series since I've been the OC (just two years ).

With a series (or two or whatever), you typically have a play to the strong side, the weak side, the middle, a counter, and a play action pass.

Buck Series:
    Bucksweep - strong flank
    FB Trap - middle