Thread: Self Scout

Default Self Scout

How do you guys self-scout yourselves? What are the big things you look out for when evaluating yourselves during and after the season.

Default Self Scout

I typically aim to finish our full-season self-scout before Christmas. I already know that I have some heavy tendencies based on formations but that is something that I still look for. Here is what I look for (keep in mind that I am a JV coach and there isn't much variation to what our opponents are doing each year):

(1) Tendencies based on formations - Should I eliminate certain formations or add to what I already do to eliminate such heavy tendencies?
    (2) What works best? - Seems to be different every year. I am almost always very reliant on my fullback...some years it is Trap, some years Down, some years Belly, some years Toss. I look for trends in big plays and try to figure out why and whether I can build off of that or continue that for the next season.
    (3) What doesn't work? - Some years I have certain plays that just don't work at all. If Belly isn't clicking, why not? What can we do to make it click? Should we even be running it? There have been seasons that I have spent considerable amount of practice time on a play and then only called it 5 times during the entire season. Those are things I am looking to eliminate.
    (4) Analyze any negative plays to see if there are any trends - We can't shoot ourselves in the foot by putting ourselves behind the chains. We have very few negative plays, but the ones that we do have usually show some sort of trend. Maybe most of them are Buck Sweeps and the guards aren't getting proper depth on their pulls causing them to get caught up in the trash. Maybe it is Counter and the QB is pushing the RB too wide and missing the hole. These are things that we want to emphasize in camp to eliminate for the following season.

Here are some of the big things that I look for during the season when I was running our self-scouts.